english  deutsch
1100 years in the heart of Europe | Map
Budapest and Surroundings
Eger–Tokaj Wine Region
The Puszta and Lake Tisza
Pannonia
Lake Balaton
 
     

Hortobágy is home to Europe's largest expanse of grassland prairies (the 'Puszta'), as well as salt lakes and marshes with treasures to be seen nowhere else. 'The prairies billow like the sea', as the Hungarian poet Sándor Petőfi, an enthusiastic admirer of the prairies and the river Tisza, put it. The Tisza is the lifeblood of this sandy country as well as the source of an inexhaustible supply of fish, the principal ingredient of the delicious Hungarian fish soup. In this region the sun shines more hours than any other region in the country, and abundantly flowing thermal water helps health-seekers to recuperate.

 

Hortobágy (G2-3)
One of Europe's largest expanses (over 1,400 km2) of protected prairie, where Hungarian grey cattle, stud horses, Racka sheep with spiralshaped horns and buffalo herds graze on open pastures. A World Heritage site since 1999, the Hortobágy National Park stretches over an area of 82,000 hectares.
The Kilenclyukú híd ('Nine-Arch' Bridge) is Hungary's longest (167.3-m) stone bridge open to road traffic. It spans the river Hortobágy near the village of Hortobágy. The nearly 300-year-old Hortobágyi csárda ('inn'), a characteristic Puszta restaurant, offers a selection of herdsmen's dishes. The Pásztormúzeum ('Herdsmen's Museum', Petőfi tér) provides an insight into the life of Hortobágy herdsmen and shepherds. The Hortobágyi Körszín (Petőfi tér) displays the unique flora and fauna, folklore and crafts of the region, where.visitors can also see grey cattle, buffaloes, goats and Mangalitsa pigs in open-air pens and sties. Máta, 2 km away from the village of Hortobágy, is the habitat of the Hortobágy stud. The Nonius breed has been reared here for 300 years.
The fishpond keeper's lodge at the Hortobágy National Park (milestone 67 on road 33) opens a wide view of an extraordinarily rich water world. The lookout tower at the keeper's lodge at Szálkahalom (milestone 79 on road 33) provides an excellent view of birdlife in the surrounding woods and salt lakes.

 

Hortobágy, the
"Nine-Arch Bridge"

Lake Tisza (F2)
Smooth waters, huge bays, backwaters and islands, a rich fish and game stock - this is Lake Tisza, the country's second largest body of water (127 km2). The shoreline of approximately 80 km is lined with recreation areas, swimming facilities, camp sites and rental outlets. The expanses of shallow water, which warm up quickly, are ideal for swimming, the deeper parts for water sports including sailing, kayaking and wind surfing.
Uniquely in Europe, you can speed around by power boat and jet ski in the 14 km2 Abádszalók Bay in the southern corner of Lake Tisza. The largest beach with a water slide, a beach volleyball court and sports equipment rentals is also located in Abádszalók. The Doll Museum (41 István király út) in the Village House, exhibiting over 250 dolls wearing the traditional folk costumes of the Carpathian Basin, is a fascinating experience.
One of the most scenic holiday areas of Tiszanána is Dinnyés Ridge, known for its atmospheric bays, backwaters and pleasant beaches. Kisköre is a place with a number of beautiful parks, where the Village Museum (5 Béke út) is dedicated to the ethnography of the region, and the Headquarters of Water Management (1 Május 1. utca) exhibits Avar Age memorabilia. Anglers and gourmets of delicious fish dishes flock to the fishing waters in Poroszló and Sarud during the catfish season in the spring and the pike season in autumn.
Tiszacsege's main asset is the 81oC thermal water gushing from a depth of 1,150 m, with excellent therapeutic impact on rheumatism and myalgia. The Kácsa ('Duck') Island is a protected area, where the rich flora and fauna of the Tisza Region survive untouched. The Cotter House (26 Óvoda utca) presents the poor cottager life that was once characteristic of the region. There is a regular boat service along the picturesque Tisza: a motorboat called the Zebegény runs up and down the river to Tokaj or Kisköre. Tiszafüred is one of the most popular resort areas on Lake Tisza, where small boats glide along the backwaters of the Tisza among water lilies. The smooth sand of the beach on the riverbank and the frequently circulated water of the thermal and open-air baths in Poroszló utca offer excellent bathing opportunities. Established in 1949, the Kiss Pál Museum (6 Tariczky Sétány) exhibits the typical Füred-style saddles of the Puszta herdsmen and the ceramics of the pottery centre. The Pottery House (12 Malom utca) displays the works of the best-known potter family and their workshop. The Meggyes Csárda Museum (Tiszafüred–Kócsújfalu, along Szeghalmi út near Meggyes Forest) is the only faithfully restored and authentically furbished period Hortobágy inn with an open chimney in its kitchen, a taproom and a cabinet made of board for saving the bottles during brawls.. The bird reserve in the Tiszavalki Basin, a habitat of herons, night herons, egrets, quawks and cormorants, is another World Heritage site. River tours leave from 15 landing stages.

 

Lake Tisza
 
Boating on the River Tisza

Karcag (F-G3)
This typical market town of the Puszta owes its fame to glazed and black pottery, quick-fingered lace-makers, colourfully embroidered long felt coats of herdsmen ('szűr'), spicy mutton paprikás and the Karcag milk loaf. The history of the region and its rich folk art can be seen in the Györffy István Nagykun Museum (4 Kálvin utca) and in the Regional House of Cumania Mayor, installed in a traditional Cumanian cottage at 16 Jókai utca. The works of the most famous Karcag potter, Sándor Kántor, including the traditional 'Miska' jugs of Karcag, are exhibited in the Pottery House (1 Erkel utca). Zádor Bridge is the only bridge in the country that does not stand over water due to the fact that the water in the riverbed beneath has long dried up. The southern entrance of the Hortobágy National Park is the Windmill Inn (1 Vágóhíd utca) presenting the special flora and fauna of the nearby Hortobágy. Of the sixty windmills that once were in service, only one from 19th century has survived (24 Vágóhíd utca).

 

Hajdúszoboszló (G-H2)
The most popular health resort of the Puszta has been 'the Mecca for Rheumatics' for 75 years. The 75°C thermal waters, springing from a depth of 1,100 m, have long been used for curative purposes. A 2-3 week remedial treatment in the thermal baths (1-3 Szent István Park) works wonders for locomotor, gynaecological, dermatological and internal diseases. The micro-climate of the baths is attributable to the iodine-saline vapour lifting from the 10,000-m2 water surface. With an annual 2,000 hours of sunshine, the spa on a 25-hectare area, the boating lake and the aquapark make it an ideal destination. The Bell House outside the spa boasts a collection of patented aluminium bells. The frescoes in the 18th-century St. Ladislaus church depict the discovery of the thermal waters. In the Pottery House (2 Ady utca) the replica of a 19th-century interior, decorated with black ceramics from Nádudvar is on display.

 

Hajdúszoboszló, Aquapark

Debrecen (H2)
Owing to its pivotal role in the reformation movement in Hungary, Debrecen, today the second most populous city in the country, was called 'the Calvinist Rome' in the 16th century. The symbol of the city, the Classicist Great Calvinist Church, with an unpretentious interior seating 3,000 persons, is the largest Calvinist church in the country. Its treasured relic is the armchair of Lajos Kossuth (1802-1894), who proclaimed the dethronement of the Hapsburg House on 14 April 1849. The 180-year old edifice of the Calvinist College (16 Kálvin tér) houses an exhibition tracing the history of the college and one devoted to ecclesiastical art. Housing the largest ecclesiastical collection numbering 500,000 volumes, its library, a historical building, boasts many rare books. The painter Mihály Munkácsy's monumental Trilogy of Christ is on display at the Déri Museum (1 Déri tér).
The oldest hotel in the country, the Aranybika ('Golden Bull') Hotel (11-15 Piac utca) is still open to guests. The City Hall building at 20 Piac utca is a fine example of the Classicist style. An industrial monument, the mill at the corner of Böszörményi út is the largest windmill in Central Europe. A nature reserve since 1939, Nagyerdő ('Great Wood') is the city's popular parkland area. Facilities here include a zoo, an amusement park and a botanical garden. The thermal waters at the spa in Nagyerdő (1 Nagyerdei park) are particularly recommended for chronic arthritis and sufferers of worn joints, rheumatism, gynaecological disorders, orthopaedic deformations and neuralgia. The roofed water sport facility (Aquaticum) nearby with cave baths, Jacuzzis and palm trees offers a genuine Mediterranean atmosphere.

 

Debrecen, Great Calvinist Church

Nyíregyháza (G-H2)
A tranquil and welcoming city with a patchwork of flowery squares and parks and the promise of pleasant strolls, Nyíregyháza is a city famous for its elevated culture of music and lively cultural life. The most valuable items in the Jósa András Museum (21 Benczúr tér) are the works of two artists from Nyíregyháza: the paintings of Gyula Benczúr (1844-1920) and the first editions of the works of novelist Gyula Krúdy (1878-1933).
Nyíregyháza-Sóstógyógyfürdő, accessible by narrow-gauge railway, is a health resort in a 46-hectare oak forest 4 km away from the city. A saline lake suitable for both bathing and boating, has made it a popular spa and health resort for over 300 years. The Museum Village of Sóstó (1 Tölgyes utca, Nyíregyháza-Sóstó) is a 7.5-hectare open-air ethnographic collection introducing the five areas in the Upper Tisza Region. In the workshops a ladies' hat milliner, a honey-cake maker, a sieve-maker, a bootmaker and a cobbler offer visitors an insight into the secrets of their trade. A complete range of buildings from the last century can be found here including a school, firehouse, bell tower, church, rectory, pub and a general store as well as homes from the wealthy to the simple peasant home.

 

Nyíregyháza, Village Museum

Máriapócs (H2)
The picture of the miraculous Weeping Madonna in the Greek Orthodox basilica at Kossuth tér has turned this village into a pilgrimage site. Although following the miracle that occurred in 1696, by order of Emperor Leopold I the painting was brought to St. Stephen's cathedral in Vienna, a copy of the painting is also said to have shed tears in 1715 and 1905. Pope Pius XII elevated the imposing church built in 1756 to the rank of basilica minor. Its Ecclesiastical Collection (17 Kossuth utca) includes many valuable memorabilia.

 

Máriapócs, procession

Nyírbátor (H2)
The 15th-century Protestant Church of St. George (24 Báthory utca) is a Gothic masterpiece of the master architect, the Franciscan friar János. Originally a single-nave Roman Catholic church with a vaulted ceiling, ornate carved capitals and glass windows, it was the burial place of the Báthory counts. The secret of the Nyírbátor concerts is the rich register of the organ and the excellent acoustics of the church. The largest and most beautiful wooden bell tower in the country, standing next to the church, and the original church furnishings, including wonderful Renaissance benches, now on display at the national Museum in Budapest, are exquisite masterpieces of Hungarian wood carving. The pulpit and the altars in the Baroque Minorite Church (19 Károlyi utca), originally built in the Gothic style, are the pinnacle of Baroque wood-carving in Hungary. Another gem in the church is a wooden altar, named 'Krucsay' after the person who commissioned it, depicting the Passion of Christ.

 

 

Tarpa (I1)
The highlight of this town is a shingle-roofed mill, formerly powered by horses, now an industrial monument (Árpád utca). A later appendage, the 45-m tower topping the 15th-century church was added to the church 300 years later. The Local History Museum (29 Kossuth utca) has a rich ethnographic collection.

 

 

Tákos (H1)
Built around 1760, the Protestant Church (Bajcsy-Zsilinszky utca) is a gem of folk architecture. On the painted wooden ceiling with 58 coffers, no two patterns of bouquets are alike. Consistent with the architectural traditions of the region, the shingled bell tower was built next to the church.

 

Csaroda (H1)
In Kossuth utca can be found a church which has stood for more than 700 years, the walls of which its new Protestant owners white-washed and decorated with floral patterns in 1640. In the course of the restoration of the church in the early 20th century the original frescoes depicting saints and apostles were uncovered. The turreted hexagonal bell tower was built in the 18th century.

 

 
Csaroda

Túristvándi (I1)
The huge wheels of the 18th-century water mill, still in service, are driven by the waters of the river Túr, with a system of sluices regulating the water level. The original shingled bell tower of the 500-year-old Gothic Calvinist church is on display in the Open-Air Ethnographic Museum in Szentendre.

 

 

Kalocsa (D-E4)
Red paprika (which gives Hungarian dishes their unique flavour) hanging in garlands to dry under the eaves of houses, the floral patterns applied to the walls of porches, the beautiful folk embroidery and local costumes in fine lace punctuated with colourful floral motifs all contribute to the great fame that the one thousand-year-old Kalocsa enjoys all over the world. The Folklore House (7 Tompa Mihály utca) and the Museum of the Hungarian Paprika Spice (6 Szent István király út) give the historical background. On several occasions the Hungarian composer Ferenc Liszt played the organ (one of the largest in Hungary) of the grand twin-towered Archiepiscopal Cathedral (1 Szentháromság tér), built in Italian Baroque style. Of the 110 masterpieces in the treasury of the Archbishopric (1 Szentháromság tér), the most important is a bust of St. Stephen, the repository of a relic of our first king, who founded the Kalocsa Archbishopric in 1009. The library of the Archbishopric (1 Szentháromság tér) contains 150,000 volumes, including many priceless codices and early prints.

 

Women in folk costumes in Kalocsa

Hajós (D-E4)
Comprising 1,200 wine-press houses, the cellar village of Hajós is an architectural curiosity. Adjoining press houses of identical size and style were built by the Swabians, who settled here in the Middle Ages. Fiery, mellow wines are for sale in the cellars dug into the fine clay soil. The wine houses of the cellar village also offer bed and breakfast catering.

 

Hajós, a village of wine-cellars

Kecskemét (E-F4) The city is famous far and wide for its apricot pálinka (brandy), Art Nouveau buildings adorned with coloured ceramics and the 'Kodály method' of musical education. A number of famous buildings grace the wide and impressive Kossuth tér crossed by promenades. The tile-roofed Town Hall at number 1, with its splendid floral ornaments and the beautiful frescoes in the conference hall, is a masterpiece of Hungarian Art Nouveau and one of the most attractive municipal buildings in the country. The tune of the chimes that sound every hour was composed by Zoltán Kodály (1882-1967). Students from all over the world enrol for courses at the Kodály Zoltán Institute of Musical Education (1 Kéttemplom köz) to study in his native city the Hungarian composer's method of teaching music. The oldest church in the city is the Franciscan church of St. Nicholas at number 5, originally erected in Gothic style 600 years ago but now with an exuberant Baroque interior. Outside the church are the Stations of the Cross. The foundation stones of the Protestant church at number 3 were laid down in the 15th century. The Nagytemplom ('Great Church'), also called Öregtemplom ('Old Church'), at Kossuth tér is the largest church in rococo style on the Puszta.
A fine example of Hungarian Art Nouveau, the so-called Cifrapalota ('Garish Palace'), lavishly decorated with floral patterns, stands 1 Rákóczi út. Inside, the collection of the Kecskemét Gallery contains the works of 19th- and 20th-century Hungarian painters. The House of Science and Technology operates in a former synagogue, built in the Romantic Moorish style (2 Rákóczi út), where authentic plaster replicas of 15 statues by the Renaissance master, Michelangelo Buonarotti are kept. The town contains many exceptional museums and collections of national importance which can be seen only here. The collection of the Museum of Hungarian Folk Applied Arts (19/A Serfőző utca) includes the works of Hungary's most reputed folk artists. The naive art collection of the Museum of the Hungarian Naive Artists (11 Gáspár András utca) consists of nearly 2,500 paintings and sculptures. The building also houses the Szórakaténusz Toy Museum and Workshop exhibiting over 10,000 railway models, toys from the early 20th century, folk toys and musical instruments for children. The Museum of Hungarian Photography, the only one of its kind, at Katona József tér, holds a collection of approximately 3,000 exhibits. The Leskowsky Collection of Musical Instruments (6/A Zimay utca) exhibits 1,500 instruments from all over the world. The guided tour, which includes a tasting, round the Zwack Fruit Brandy Distillery and Museum at the Zwack Unicum Rt.'s distillery (2 Matkói utca) is a memorable experience.

 

Kecskemét, synagogue
 
Kecskemét, Theatre
 
Kecskemét, Cifrapalota
(Garish Palace)

Bugac (E4)
The 11,000-hectare Puszta of Bugac, declared by UNESCO to be a biospheric reserve, is the most frequented section of the Kiskunság ('Cumania Minor') National Park, which is divided into nine sections. Highlights of the equestrian shows (gymkhana, riding and coaching) held regularly at the tourist centres of the region include driving stud horses and a breathtaking show of the 'pusztaötös' ('Puszta five'). During the latter the rider of five galloping horses balances on the backs of the two in the rear. The Shepherd Museum (Bugac-puszta) offers an insight into the everyday life of shepherds, hut buildings and shepherd carvings. The Museum of the Puszta Forestation Project (545 Felsőmonostor) presents the history, wildlife and the cultivation of forests on the Puszta.

 

Bugac

Csongrád (F4)
A unique feature of this atmospheric town with its shady trees and groves at the confluence of the rivers Tisza and Körös is its centre, where 32 thatched houses make up the only village-sized folk monument on the Puszta. The Csongrád Museum House (1 Gyökér utca) consists of 2 buildings: 'the old house' and 'the large house'. With smooth riverside sand and shallow waters, making it safe for children, the Körös-torok spa and resort nearby are favourite holiday destinations.

 

Csongrád, fishermen's house

Szarvas (F-G3)
The most famous sight in this settlement along the River Körös is the Szarvas Arboretum, also known as Pepi garden which was established in the late 19th century. There are over 1,600 different species of trees and bushes, including many rare species in this 82-hectare park. The 200-year-old school of agriculture (1 Vajda Péter utca) founded by the scientist, farmer and teacher, the Lutheran pastor Sámuel Tessedik houses a museum dedicated to local history and ethnography. The dry mill at 1 Ady Endre utca, still in working order, is one of only three surviving dry mills in the country which grind grist and cereals. The traditional Slovak house museum (1/A Hoffmann János utca) is a 19th-century peasant home exhibiting nearly 1,000 objects. The Körös-Maros National Park and the Körös Valley Visitor Centre takes you into the world of the saline Puszta and floodplain forests. The Holt ('Dead') Körös with water stretching for 30-km is the country's fifth largest lake, an ideal holiday destination for families, children and hikers. Offering 11 species of fish to catch, it is an excellent place for anglers.
Other sights of interest include a mill-shaped riverside monument marking the geographical centre of pre-Trianon Hungary, a row of wooden sculptures symbolising the history of Hungary and a bronze statue depicting the wolf in the Capitol in Rome to be found at the Classicist Bolza Mansion on the Holt Körös (2 Szabadság utca).

 

Szarvas, Bolza Mansion
 
Szarvas, dry mill

Szeged (F4-5)
With 2,100 hours of sunshine each year it obvious why Szeged, situated at the confluence of the rivers Tisza and Maros, is also called 'the city of sunshine'. After the great floods of the 'Yellow Tisza' in 1879, a new well-designed city with fine edifices in Eclectic and Art Nouveau style was built with international assistance.
A number of famous buildings line Dóm tér, including the bishop's palace, the College of Theology, the educational institutions of the University of Szeged, a Roman Catholic boarding school, the Somogyi Library and the Medical School of Szeged. Completed in 1930, the neo-Romanesque bishopric cathedral, generally called the Votive Church of Szeged, seating 5,000 persons, is of impressive proportions. Its bell weighing 8.6 metric tons is the second largest in the country. The mosaic ceiling above its tabernacle depicts the Virgin Mary in an embroidered shepherd's cloak and traditional Szeged slippers. The organ, one of the largest in Europe with five keyboards and 9,040 pipes is featured frequently in concerts. The Tower of St. Demetrios is a relic of a 13th-century church. The statues of the outstanding figures of Hungarian literature, culture and science stand in the National Memorial Hall. The clockwork figures of the musical clock can be seen for 5 minutes at 12:15 and 17:45. Dóm tér is also the scene of the internationally renowned Szeged Open-Air Festival. The Rococo lace-patterned iconostasis, carved from pear wood, with 80 icons to be seen in the Greek Orthodox Church (Révai utca) is of immense cultural historical value. The turreted neo-Baroque-Rococo edifice of the City Hall at 10 Széchenyi tér dominates the square, which is punctuated with the statues of great statesmen of the nation. The Reök Palace (56 Tisza L. körút) is a masterpiece of Hungarian Art Nouveau. The imposing Art Nouveau-Moorish style building of the new synagogue at the corner of Hajnóczy utca and Gutenberg utca is one of the finest synagogues in Europe. The 15th-16thcentury Church of the Havas Boldogasszony ('the Snowy Blessed Virgin') and the adjoining Franciscan monastery (Mátyás király tér, Alsóváros 'Lower Town') are the oldest late Gothic monuments of the Puszta. Of the two devotion pictures here, one is a copy of the picture of the socalled Black Virgin Mary in Czestochowa.
Pick salami and the Szeged paprika, a special ingredient of Hungarian dishes, a good measure of which gets into the Szeged fish soup, are world-famous products of the city. The Szeged Museum of Pick Salami and Paprika (10 Felső Tisza-part) recalls their history and outlines the entire manufacturing process of the world-famous salami. The Botanical Garden of the University (42 Lövölde utca) presents a marvellous collection of cacti, palms and other exotic plants. The windmill at Kiskundorozsma is one of the last surviving windmills on the Puszta.

 

Szeged, Votive Church
 
Szeged, folk dancers

Ópusztaszer (F4)
The area surrounding the memorial park in Ópusztaszer was the place of the 'blood-pact' which the chieftains of the Magyar tribes settling the Carpathian Basin 1,100 years ago made with each other. A statue of their leader, Chieftain Árpád, has been in the National Memorial Park (68 Szoborkert, 'Statue Garden') for 108 years.
The greatest attraction here, visited by hundreds of thousands, is the Feszty Panorama, one of the largest paintings in the world, portraying the arrival of the Magyars. A tremendous success, the picture was painted by Árpád Feszty and his fellow artists in 1894. The 1,760-m2 panorama painting, featuring close to 2,000 persons, is on display in a building erected specifically for this purpose. An exhibition called 'Promenade 1896' displays life-size models dressed in contemporary clothes, evoking 19th-century small town and metropolitan life. In the garden of ruins, the history of one of the country's oldest churches, the Benedictine monastery of Szer, dating back to the 11th century can be seen. The St. Gellért Bell, weighing 500 kg, was made from 2,000 pieces put together by archaeologists. Exhibits included in the Open-Air Ethnographic Collection represent the life of the 19th-century in a true to life manner. A collection of agricultural machinery displays the most common machines once used in peasant farming.

 

Ópusztaszer

Mezőhegyes (F-G4)
The town owes its fame to the Hungarian Nonius horses bred at the royal stud farm. Established in 1784, the Royal Horse-Breeding Institution (30 Kozma utca), one of the most important European stud farms of its time, left for posterity approximately 60 late-Baroque works of agricultural architecture, of high aesthetic quality. The two triumphal arches, the Empire style roofed riding school, the former horsemen's barracks and the fully restored office buildings of the stud farm welcome visitors in heir original glory. The barracks form the hotel which boasts suites furnished with pieces from the period. The Wagon Museum (32 Kozma utca) houses a collection of Hungarian carriage riding paraphernalia: carriages, sleighs, harnesses and coachmen's outfits.
An ensemble of architectural rarities of national importance can be found here, including the neo- Renaissance Central Restaurant (22 Kozma utca), the only half-timbered building in Hungary, Öregcsűr ('old hayloft') (10 Kossuth), the largest staircase in the country, the impressive Empire-style building of the central granary (Hild János utca), herdsmen's dwellings dug into the ground and heated by stoves on the outside (two in Manor 18 and one in Manor 48) and seven silo towers for grain storage (two in Manor 18 and one in each of Manors 23, 39, 56, 66 and 79). The area surrounding the town offers good hunting for pheasants, hares, roebuck and fallow deer, while Béka-tó ('Frog Lake') is teeming with fish.

 

Mezőhegyes

Gyula (G4)
Flowers, rose gardens, green parks and romantic promenades everywhere: an ideal destination for those looking for tranquillity. The symbol of the town is a 15th-century brick fortress, the only lowland brick-built fortress in Central Europe that has survived intact. In the summer the Gyula Castle Theatre performances are held in its courtyard.
The Castle Baths in the 8.5-hectare park of the Almásy Castle opposite the brick fortress is one of Hungary's most beautiful thermal baths. The bathing establishment offers open-air and indoor thermal pools as well as theme pools including a whirlpool, a wave pool, children's pools and an openair and an indoor swimming pool.
Dating back to 1840, the Százéves ('One Hundred-Year-Old) Confectionery (1 Erkel tér) is the countries second oldest pastry shop, with the original furnishings and fittings still in use. The town's famous son is Ferenc Erkel (1810-1893), founder of the Hungarian national opera as well as composer of 'Bánk bán' and 'Hunyadi László', operas in which major historical figures appear. He also composed the music for the Hungarian national anthem. The Erkel Ferenc Memorial House (7 Apor Vilmos tér), his birthplace and former home, displays his harmonium, hand-written music books and family photos. Ladics House (4 Jókai utca), with furniture of artistic merit and Meissen chinaware, offering a glimpse of genteel lifestyle and interior design, is a dwelling house-turned museum, unique in Hungary in terms of both cultural heritage and ambience. The Dürer Hall (17 Kossuth utca), named after the great German painter Albrecht Dürer, whose family on his father's side came from Gyula, houses an exhibition entitled 'Centuries in Gyula', detailing the history of the fortress. The Collection of Devotional Articles and Remembrances of the Virgin Mary at 11 Apor Vilmos tér also includes garments of Hungarian monastic orders. The Farm Museum, 8 km away from Gyula, acquaints visitors with 19th- and 20th-century peasant life and farming instruments. A collection devoted to the history of the meat industry, (Húsipari Üzemtörténeti Gyűjtemény at 1 Kétegyházi út) traces the history of the Gyula salami, the hallmark product of the town.

Gyula, "One Hundred-Year-Old Confectionery"
 
Gyula, brick fortress
 
Gyula, Castle Baths
   
Top of Page | Homepage | Map